27 Weeks Pregnant

Last week a preliminary test showed high levels of glucose in my blood. This may mean that I have developed gestational diabetes. Just to be safe, the midwives put me on a diabetic diet until the next test can be performed in a couple weeks. So long as I can maintain a steady glucose level through diet and exercise, there are no real health risks, except that I am at higher risk for developing type 2 diabetes in the future. If I didn’t take care of myself, the high glucose levels in my blood would mean high glucose levels in the baby’s blood which would be stored in his body as fat, making him unnaturally large and potentially requiring a c-section. It would also mean that he would be used to having a lot of glucose in his system, and therefore producing a lot of insulin which could cause him health problems. Needless to say, I’m sticking to the diet and exercise plan. It’s not so bad overall–in fact, it’s probably the best type of diet for anyone to be on–portion control, low carb, low fat, no refined foods (white flour, white rice, white sugar, etc.), lots of exercise. I wouldn’t be surprised if I stayed this weight, give or take a few pounds, for the rest of the pregnancy. I had been indulging in sweets and was quite obviously growing in places other than my belly. The only real bummer with this diet is having to cut out ALL sweets for 3 months.

Last week I discovered that my breasts are already producing colostrom. It is bizarre. Dan is completely wierded out by it.

At my last appointment with the midwives, it was confirmed that little Daniel is in the head-down position. Since it’s getting pretty cramped in his little house, I imagine he’ll stay that way until delivery. He’s been kicking a lot the last few days. Since we know what position he’s in, I can sometimes tell which body part is moving across my belly. Usually it’s his little feet. The movements feel different all the time since he’s growing so rapidly. He should be about 15 inches tall now and about 2.5 pounds.

Dan and I will finally be getting a digital camera this month, so I’ll be able to post photos of my belly (so happy it’s still stretch-mark free) and the baby when he comes. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

