31 Weeks Pregnant

Today I got disappointing news… the birthing class we had signed up for was canceled. I was really looking forward to meeting other like-minded expectant couples in Pasadena. But because we’re due in 9 weeks, there’s not much time to find another class that will finish before our due date that’s not already full. And I’m not willing to go to just any ol’ class. Because we’re planning a home birth and will be attended by midwives rather than doctors and nurses, regular classes aren’t designed for us, and the people who attend those classes tend to have different ideas about childbirth than us. It’s not really the information that we need or want anyway. We’ve done plenty of our own research, and I attended both my brother’s and my sister’s births. What’s the difference hearing what someone says versus reading what someone wrote down? It is the interaction with other like-minded couples and the personal nature of a class-like atmosphere that’s so appealing, and thus so disappointing now that the class is canceled.

On a more positive note, my second blood-sugar test came back with a very normal glucose reading. My diet has completely controlled my glucose levels (and my weight gain! I only gained 1 pound over the last month!), so there’s not really anything to worry about for the rest of the pregnancy as long as I continue to eat right. My midwives even said that I didn’t have to be as careful as I’d been and gave the thumbs-up to eating a slice of cake at my baby shower(s), and even some Girl Scout cookies now and then. But because Diabetes runs in my family, a low-carbohydrate diet is recommended for the rest of my life.

Dan and I have been talking a lot about our budget for after the baby is born and our income drops. Though we’re both a little nervous about the shift in income, I think we’re in pretty good shape. We found out that our tax refund will cover two full months of work for me, and our insurance reimbursement should cover another full month. So we’re actually in great shape until September. But that’s when I’ll start working part-time from home, so even then we’re in decent shape… and perhaps our condo will gain a little momentum in the housing market over the next year (there are several building projects going on within a 2-block radius of us).

Still no stretch marks!

Leave a Reply

