33 Weeks Pregnant

In 4 weeks, I will be full term. My due date is in 7 weeks. WOW. I didn’t expect time to have gone by so quickly. Staring ahead, the road seems SO long, but looking back, I realize how short it really was.

Sometimes I can really feel pressure where the baby’s head is pressing–especially if I have to pee–and he hasn’t even dropped yet. His kicks are pretty strong still. He’s almost always facing my left side, and insists on kicking his legs out as straight as they will go. Occasionally he’ll flip around and face my right side, but that only lasts for a few minutes before he’ll flip back over.

The baby gets the hiccups almost every day–sometimes two or three times in a day. He’s hiccuping right now. I read somewhere that hiccups in utero can be a sign of food allergies or sensitivities. I’ve tried paying attention to what I’ve eaten when he starts hiccuping to see if I can find any correlation, and so far, there’s not much to go on. About half the time, I’ve had some kind of dairy, but I’ve yet to test that theory. A dairy intolerance would be a bummer… since I love milk, cheese and ice cream. But after he’s weaned, a dairy intolerance is the easiest to deal with since Dan has a dairy intolerance himself.

We’re currently looking for a Pediatrician. We were given a list of Pediatricians in our area that are more accepting of attachment parenting and selective vaccinations, but I’m nervous about what we’ll find. I’d really like to find someone who’s actually supportive, not just accepting. But from what I’ve been hearing, there’s the kind who are a bit over-the-top (even advocating for no vaccinations at all) or the kind who are just accepting of AP and a parent’s involvement in the vaccination schedule. I’ve made appointments with 4 doctors so we can meet them to see if we’re a good fit. I’ve got two on reserve to call if none of the first 4 work out. One is a more conservative (very pro-vac) the other is not at all (one of the no-vac types). Hopefully I won’t have to go that route. It would be ideal to be able to see one of the Drs. Sears… but their practice is in San Clemente–a bit far–and they’re usually booked solid on account of their bajillion books and being known as leading experts in the field. They’re very pro-AP (the senior Dr. Sears & his wife coined the term!) as well as being more conservative with vaccinations. A perfect combination for us. Ah well, stop dreaming. I’m sure we’ll find an acceptable doctor in our area.

We purchased the first part of our birthing kit a few days ago. There are still several things we need to gather and have ready before week 37 rolls around. Because we’re birthing at home (well… Dan’s parent’s house), we’ve got to have all kinds of supplies handy–old towels, plastic bags, vomit bowls, etc. My list is two pages long. Page one is taken care of (the stuff that come from the medical supply company), and the regular household items from page two are accounted for.

We had our first baby shower last weekend at my aunt’s house in San Diego. It was quite an ecclectic group of people–Nathan’s mother and sister, two friends from high school, my aunt’s mother-in-law, a friend of my mom’s, Enrique & her sister, my mother-in-law, and my SD family (mom, sister, aunt, cousins). It was fun for me–seeing people I don’t get to see on a regular basis–but I wonder how awkward it was for everyone else. And now we have a ton of baby stuff… and 3 more showers to go, YIKES. I’m thinking about asking the last two to be more thematic–cloth diapers, children’s books and well wishes. Mmmm. That sounds good.

I do have one stretch mark now–it vertically connects the top and bottom hole where my belly ring used to be. I guess because the skin was “injured” the layer of skin where stretch marks occur just couldn’t keep it together (ha! a pun). Since there are no other “injury” sites on my belly, I’m pretty confident that’ll be the only one… we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

