38 Weeks Pregnant

It’s lunchtime on my last day of work–my last official day for over 3 months! I may come in for a meeting next week, but just to orient our new hire.

My due date is in exactly 2 weeks. I’m ready to have the baby any time, but would be happy if he’d wait at least one more week so I can have one full week to try to get my house as together as possible before he comes.

I will pick up our short-term boarder from the airport tomorrow night, so I’ll have some getting-to-know-you time with her before the baby comes. I still have a couple of things to prepare for her coming as well. Her coming has actually pushed me to get things more ready than they would be had she not been coming. Knowing that she’s going to be using the back bedroom has kept me from using it as a storage room for all the stuff we’ve gotten. Because all the baby stuff will need to reside in our room for the time being, I’ve made sure it is all sorted and placed nicely in baskets or drawers. We didn’t have a chance to paint the room like I’d wanted to, but that’s not a big deal.

The stretch-mark watch is still in effect. There was a new one on my breast the other day–better there, than my belly. The few crawlers from my belly-ring scar have stayed more-or-less the same, which is all I can hope for at this point. My belly button has completely popped out now–no chance of it flattening, I don’t think.

I’m feeling pretty good about everything going on in our lives right now. I’m anxious for the baby to come, but not overly so. I’m feeling okay about our finances. I’m looking forward to having Janie in our home. I’m feeling supported in our labor/birth decisions. Things are good.

Leave a Reply

