38 1/2 Weeks Pregnant

I don’t know if I’ll make it to 39 weeks, so I thought I should post an update now.

I’ve had several pre-labor signs over the last couple of days. On Saturday night, I had many hours (I stopped keeping track after 5) of contractions that were 10 minutes apart. They were mild and didn’t increase in intensity, so I knew they weren’t actual labor, but it was exciting none-the-less. Today (Monday) I had a visit with our back-up doctor who found that I am already 50% effaced and dialated to 2 centimeters. Just after I returned home, I lost my mucous plug (which often happens after an internal exam). Usually when the plug is expelled, labor begins within 3 days, though it could take up to 2 weeks.

So I got to readying myself and my house. I went grocery shopping, finished packing my overnight bag (we’re delivering at Dan’s parents’ house), did laundry, did the dishes, and indulged in reading about birth. There’s still plenty to do around the house–like tidying up the bedroom, filing, cleaning the bathroom–but none of it is terribly important, and the midwives keep telling me to take it easy.

I’m going to go take it easy for a little while longer now before it’s time to make dinner… fajitas, mmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

