14 Weeks Old

Three months and eight days old Daniel is. And pee on the potty he can.

We have been trying out the “Elimination Communication” or “Natural Infant Hygiene” or whatever you want to call it. At first, it seemed to work. After paying close attention to when Daniel tended to pee or poo, I held him over the toilet when I suspected it was time. I’d make a psss psss psss sound and hope that he peed so he would make the connection. I was timing it pretty good at first, but then I got lazy and stopped taking him every 20 minutes… because that got old really fast, and because I was tied to the house. I can’t go grocery shopping and be back home in 20 minutes. But I kept taking him to the toilet every once in a while. But yesterday we made a breakthrough… or so I thought. Daniel didn’t soil a single diaper from 7am-9pm!! He did all of his business on the toilet all day long, even though sometimes I waited 1 1/2 hours to take him to the bathroom. I was thrilled! But then today, he was back in the diaper-soiling business–though he did save his poo for the toilet today. But regardless of whether or not Daniel keeps a clean diaper from day-to-day, I know he understands that the toilet is a place for pee and poo and am convinced that this early introduction to its function will serve us well for early potty training–even if he’s not fully trained for some time now.

Daniel seems to be progressing by leaps and bounds these days. He can successfully reach for a toy and put it in his mouth now. He’s figuring out how to suck his thumb (so cute!) and has managed to laugh several times. His most robust and convincing laughter has come through non-family interactions. I wonder why he finds others so much funnier than us–a change of pace, perhaps? Silly faces he’s not used to? Whatever it is, it’s awesomely cute.

I took Daniel along to babysit for a friend’s little girl (nearly 2 years old). It was an experiment on several levels. I wanted to see how difficult it would be caring for two little ones with roughly the same age difference I’d like my kids to be and my friends wanted to see how their daughter responded to a baby in the house (they’re thinking about trying for a second). It was a positive experience all around, but it was only for a few hours. I think a 2- or 3-year age difference will likely be a good span–which means we’ll be thinking about trying for our second next winter sometime.

I’ve decided pretty definitively that once our second child comes along, I’m going to quit working for good. Of course the real decision will be based on our circumstances at the time, but not working will certainly be a priority. I started back to work recently and it’s going okay since I’m able to work at Dan’s parents’ house where I have full access to Daniel at any time, but when he is older and there’s a second child to care for, I doubt it will be as easy.

Currently, Daniel is standing on my lap in quite the unhappy mood, so I’m off to tend to him which will hopefully end in him falling asleep and staying asleep for many hours.

Leave a Reply

