5 1/2 Months Old

Last night, my dream came true. Daniel slept through the night! I vaguely remember him waking up once, but he put himself back to sleep fairly quickly. I don’t expect him to do it again tonight, but I sure do hope he does.

The sitting has been going well. Daniel still topples, but much less often.

I put him in one of those baby park swings yesterday. Daniel absolutely loved it. He was squealing and laughing the whole time.

Showering is going to become challenging pretty soon. Until recently, I’ve been putting Daniel in his bouncy chair when I shower in the morning. But he’s not so happy with that arrangement any more. A few days ago, I put him in the doorway jumper instead. That’s been working okay, but I can tell it won’t last long. I’m getting worried about what to do with Daniel while I shower when he starts crawling, and then, when he’s walking. Showering at night could be my only option… but it’s just not the same. I feel so much more awake, more ready for the day when I’ve showered in the morning.

This coming Tuesday, we have two appointments to visit play gyms. Our first stop will be Gymboree, then we’ll go to My Gym. I’m looking forward to having a regular opportunity to meet other moms with babies. So far, I’ve not been so good at it. I go to the open house day at the midwives’ office every Thursday, but I’m the only regular. Almost every week, there are different moms and children, so I don’t really get the chance to get to know any one. I also signed up for a Yahoo group of EC families (that’s Elimination Communication–babies on potties). They have a play group on Wednesdays that I’ll try out soon.

I have been back to my old size for a few weeks now. I didn’t think I’d actually be able to fit into my old pants again–with the spreading of the hips and all–but I guess everything went back to the way it was. Dan’s pretty happy with the way it’s all worked out.

Leave a Reply

