33 Weeks Pregnant

There are only 7 weeks until my due date. It sounds so much better to say 7 weeks than to say a month and a half. I am really looking forward to this baby with joy and excitement. I only feel a little bit of nervousness and it is mostly related to how Daniel will handle the transition. I am most excited about having a nursling again. I really miss breastfeeding and can’t wait to be able to share that with another child.

I started my Hypnobabies home study class today. I am feeling very confident that I’ll be able to achieve a pain-free birth. And even if I do end up feeling some discomfort, I am sure it will be minimal. I tried hypnotherapy recently with my fear of flying and it worked quite well, despite the fact that I only had one session and only listened to the CD 3 times. The Hypnobabies course is five weeks long, during which I am to listen to at least one of various CDs every day. And then every day thereafter until baby comes.

Baby Reid gets the hiccups every day. Just like Daniel did. And he has very long hiccupping sessions that can get annoying after awhile. And I have been getting heartburn/reflux nearly every day for the last couple weeks. Sometimes it’s so bad it feels like my throat is on fire. And earlier this week, that was coupled with some intensely uncomfortable constipation that affected my entire digestive system. It was painful even to eat. I lost a pound and a half in just two days! Thankfully, it came back a couple days later when I was finally able to recover and start eating properly again.

I’ve had a few bouts of insomnia in the last couple weeks, too. Two nights in a row last week, I was awake for 3 or more hours in the middle of the night. It’s been about a week since my last episode, and I’m praying it doesn’t come back!

I’ll be having a baby shower at the end of the month to which all female friends and family are invited. The term baby shower is a bit of a misnomer in this case, however, since I’m asking not to be showered with gifts. Instead, I’ve asked invitees to bring a gift for a mother in-need–particularly a mother residing at Elizabeth House, a local shelter for homeless pregnant women and their children. There are four women currently residing there who are due in the next few months. Especially now, when charitable organizations are receiving a much lower level of donations than they’re used to, I don’t need to be given a showering of material things. There are very few items that I want to have for this child that I don’t already own, that I should easily be able to get them for myself.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Rebecca said,

    Just found your blog for the first time – fun to read about stuff even though we had a chance to catch up lately. I hope you keep enjoying your hypnobabies and the read of the time your new baby is “inside.”


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

